Connect with us


Stormzy and Zaha’s AFC Croydon Athletic appoint ex-EFL duo turned managers

Stormzy and Wilfried Zaha’s AFC Croydon Athletic have taken to appoint ex-EFL duo turned managers Jermaine McGlashan and Chris Zebroski.

The club was formed in 2012 by the supporters of Croydon Athletic FC, who withdrew from the Isthmian League during the 2011–12 season and eventually folded.

Prior to their resignation, the club’s owner Mazhar Majeed was sent to prison due to his involvement in the Pakistan cricket spot-fixing scandal, having been been recorded admitting that he had purchased the club solely in order to launder money, and the club had been locked out of its ground by the local council due to unpaid debts.

On the 27th of June 2023, the club confirmed that a consortium consisting of Wilfried Zaha, Stormzy and and former Crystal Palace head of care Danny Young had exchanged contracts to purchase the club.

The season prior to their arrival, they finished 15th out of 20 teams in the Combined Counties League Premier Division South.

For 2023/24, they currently sit 16th, with 8 points from 8 games, and now Kevin Rayner and Lee Roots have left their role as Joint Manager.

Incoming is Jermaine McGlashan and Chris Zebroski, who join from working together in charge of fellow league side Fleet Town since January 2022.

Last season their side finished 18th out of 20 teams, and this season, at the time of their departure, Fleet sit 13th with 10 points from 10 games.


AFC Croydon Athletic are delighted to announce that they have appointed Jermaine McGlashan as the new first team manager. He takes over with immediate effect and will be in charge for the trip to play Jersey Bulls on Saturday.

A UEFA qualified coach, he has most recently been at fellow Combined Counties League team Fleet Town. Jermaine had a professional playing career that included spells at Cheltenham Town, Gillingham and Southend United and has also played overseas before turning to coaching.

He arrives at Mayfield Stadium alongside Chris Zebroski who is installed as his Assistant Manager. Michael Kamara, who has been caretaking the team is appointed as Coach. Ean Paterson, who had remained at the club, has decided to step away having recently become a father again and we send him our best wishes and thanks for his efforts.

McGlashan will take charge of the team at Jersey Bulls on Saturday and will have a few days to get to know the squad ahead of that game. Chairman and co-owner Danny Young welcomed Jermaine to his new role. β€œI am delighted that Jermaine has accepted the role and look forward to a long and successful time with the club. He has a wealth of experience and is Croydon born so is very familiar with the area.”

Chris Zebroski also has league experience as a player and has worked alongside Jermaine since he joined Fleet Town around a year ago.

After the Jersey game the team remain on their travels at Burnham (FA Vase) and then at Cobham in the league before the first game at home against Hilltop on 31st October.

McGlashan’s career

Youth career
Tooting & Mitcham United
-2006 – Staines Town

Senior career
2006–2008 – Staines Town
2007–2008 β†’ Bracknell Town (dual registration)
2008–2009 – Kingstonian
2008–2009 β†’ Raynes Park Vale (loan)
2009 – Merstham
2009–2010 – Ashford Town (Middlesex)
2010–2012 – Aldershot Town – 75 games (5 goals)
2012–2014 – Cheltenham Town – 116 games (14 goals)
2014–2016 – Gillingham – 67 games (7 goals)
2016–2018 – Southend United – 70 games (4 goals)
2018–2020 – Swindon Town – 30 games (0 goals)
2019 β†’ Wrexham (loan) – 8 games (1 goal)
2019–2020 β†’ Chesterfield (loan) – 15 games (0 goals)
2020 – Ebbsfleet United – 12 games (0 goals)
2020–2021 – Akritas Chlorakas – 13 games (0 goals)
2021–2022 – Maidstone United – 15 games (0 goals)
2022 – Leatherhead

Managerial career
2022–2023 – Fleet Town
2023- AFC Croydon Athletic

Zebroski’s career:

Youth career
Cirencester Academy
2003–2004 – Swindon Town
2004–2005 – Plymouth Argyle

Senior career
2005–2006 – Plymouth Argyle – 5 games (0 goals)
2006–2008 – Millwall – 32 games (3 goals)
2007 β†’ Oxford United (loan) – 10 games (2 goals)
2007–2008 β†’ Torquay United (loan) – 52 games (19 goals)
2008–2010 – Wycombe Wanderers – 55 games (9 goals)
2009–2010 β†’ Torquay United (loan) – 7 games (4 goals)
2010–2011 – Torquay United – 67 games (19 goals)
2011–2012 – Bristol Rovers – 44 games (5 goals)
2012–2013 – Cheltenham Town – 24 games (6 goals)
2013 – Eastleigh – 14 games (4 goals)
2013–2015 – Newport County – 77 games (20 goals)
2017–2019 – Eastleigh – 75 games (12 goals)
2019–2021 – Chippenham Town – 28 games (5 goals)
2021 – Malmesbury Victoria
2021 – Swindon Supermarine
2021–2022 – Wantage Town
2022 – Melksham Town
2023 – Fleet Town

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Championship