Connect with us

Non League

Five National League clubs make the FA Groundsman of the Year Award

Ground staff of various clubs have received special praise from the National League for the condition of pitches throughout the last year.

The awards recognise the importance of the quality of pitches for professional football and acknowledge the clubs and their ground staff who consistently produce the best playing surfaces in highest division in the non league pyramid.


Boreham Wood’s Declan Robinson and Daniel Hunter

After finding out they won the award, the Club said: “The dedication, skill and application shown by these two very committed grass and soil technicians come rain, wind or shine, has meant our incredible pitch is prepared to an incredibly high standard.

“After the decision was made to restructure our pitch four seasons ago and after improved investment was put in over the last three years, our hard working lads have finally been rewarded”.



Liam Reynolds from Chesterfield



Rob Brooks of Alfreton Town



Woking’s Colin Galliford and Kidderminster Harriers’ Adie Ganderton

The FA has a panel of judges – professional groundsmen themselves – who look at the quality of the pitch while also taking into consideration the skills and knowledge of the groundsman, their ambitions for the pitch, the resources available, how often the pitch is used, and the amount of time they are able to work on the pitch.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Non League