Connect with us

English Football League

Shrewsbury confirm surprise appointment of new manager

Shrewsbury Town have confirm a surprise appointment of their new manager on Friday afternoon and it’s got plenty of talk already.

The 56-year-old has agreed a three-and-a-half-year deal with the League One side, who sacked manager Sam Ricketts on Wednesday.

The Shrews are on an eight-game winless run in the league and are one point above bottom side Wigan Athletic in the League One table.


Salop appoint Steve Cotterill as Town Manager on a three-and-a-half-year deal.

Shrewsbury Town Football Club is delighted to confirm the arrival of Steve Cotterill.

Steve joins the Club with an impressive record having won Sky Bet League One and League Two winners medals during managerial stints with Bristol City and Notts County.

The 56-year-old enjoyed a lengthy playing career as a striker – most notably with Wimbledon in the First Division and Bournemouth in the Second Division.

Town CEO Brian Caldwell is delighted to welcome Steve to the Club and is looking forward to working with Town’s new Manager.

“We are delighted to announce Steve Cotterill as the new Manager of Shrewsbury Town Football Club who has signed a three-and-a-half-year contract with the Club,” said Brian.

“Steve brings a wealth of managerial experience with around 700 games to date. He has had a lot of success during his managerial career including five promotions, an EFL Trophy win, and three Manager of the Year Awards.

“It has been a whirlwind 48 hours but with matches coming thick and fast, we felt it was vitally important to appoint as quickly as possible. We are very grateful to Steve and his representative for their assistance in making this all happen in such a timeous fashion.

“We are sure you will give Steve a ‘Shrewsbury welcome’ and support him and the squad in our battle to improve our league position in the coming weeks.”

Steve Cotterill managed Birmingham City but was sacked in March 2018.

The other clubs he has managed are Sligo Rovers, Cheltenham Town, Stoke City, Burnley, Notts County, Portsmouth, Nottingham Forest and Bristol City.



  • FA Trophy winners: 1997-98
  • Football Conference runners-up: 1997-98
  • Football Conference champions: 1998-99
  • Football League Third Division play-off winners: 2001-02


  • Football League Two champions: 2009-10


  • Football League Trophy winners: 2014-15
  • Football League One champions: 2014-15

Fans reacted as Shrewsbury confirm a surprise appointment of their new manager…

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in English Football League