Connect with us


2022 World Cup qualifying draw in full live

The 2022 World Cup qualifying draw in full live was made on Monday evening with the potential of Home Nations drawing each other.

The seedings for the European section of qualification for Qatar 2022 have already been confirmed, based on the FIFA World Ranking which were announced on the 26th of November.

England are among the top seeds – along with top-ranked Belgium and reigning world champions France – meaning they could be drawn in a group with Wales and one of Scotland, Northern Ireland or the Republic.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by FIFA World Cup (@fifaworldcup)

Pot 1: Belgium, France, England, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands.

Pot 2: Switzerland, Wales, Poland, Sweden, Austria, Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia, Romania.

Pot 3: Russia, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Norway, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, Greece, Finland.

Pot 4: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Belarus, Georgia, Luxembourg.

Pot 5: Armenia, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Latvia, Andorra.

Pot 6: Malta, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar, San Marino.

www.fanbanter.co.uk – Fan reaction to the latest football news, gossip & funnies

How does it all work? In total, 55 teams are to be split into five groups of five and five groups of six.

The winners of the 10 groups automatically qualify for the finals, which for the first time ever will be played in November and December of 2022 to avoid the extreme heat in the Middle East.

A further three places will be fought out between the 10 group runners-up and the two highest-ranked teams from the Nations League who have not already qualified or finished in a runners-up spot.

Those 12 teams will be divided into three play-off paths, each featuring four countries, to determine the final three European places.

UEFA’s Executive Committee confirms the following pairs of teams can’t be drawn together: Armenia and Azerbaijan, Gibraltar and Spain, Ukraine and Russia, and Kosovo and Bosnia & Herzegovina/Russia/Serbia.

Iceland and the Faroe Islands have been identified as venues with the “highest risk of severe winter conditions” and to limit disruption to the group-match scheduling, can’t be drawn into the same group.

UEFA has also identified 20 pairings – including Kazakhstan with England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic – as involving “excessive travel” and says that “in order to minimise teams’ travel burdens a maximum of one such pair can be drawn in the same group”.

The qualifiers will be played between March and November 2021, with play-offs scheduled for March 2022.

Matchday 1: March 24-25 2021
Matchday 2: March 27-28 2021
Matchday 3: March 30-31 2021
Matchday 4: September 1-2 2021
Matchday 5: September 4-5 2021
Matchday 6: September 7-8 2021
Matchday 7: October 8-9 2021
Matchday 8: October 11-12 2021
Matchday 9: November 11-13 2021
Matchday 10: November 14-16 2021
Play-offs: March 24, 25, 28, 29 2022

Time to take a look at 2022 World Cup qualifying draw in full live as it happens below..

Group A: Portugal, Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan

Group B: Spain, Sweden, Greece, Georgia, Kosovo

Group C: Italy, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Lithuania

Group D: France, Ukraine, Finland, Bosnia, Kazakhstan

Group E: Belgium, Wales, Czech Republic, Belarus, Estonia

Group F: Denmark, Austria, Scotland, Israel, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Group G: Netherlands, Turkey, Norway, Montenegro, Latvia, Gibraltar

Group H: Croatia, Slovakia, Russia, Slovenia, Cyprus, Malta

Group I: England, Poland, Hungary, Albania, Andorra, San Marino

Group J: Germany, Romania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein


What happened last time England played in the World Cup Qualifying stages?

In 2017, the Three Lions finished top of Group F, which also consisted of Slovakia, Scotland, Slovenia, Lithuania and Malta.

1 England1026
2 Slovakia1018
3 Scotland1018
4 Slovenia1015
5 Lithuania106
6 Malta101


4 September 2016 – Slovakia 0–1 England
Lallana 90+5′

4 September 2016 – Malta 1–5 Scotland
Snodgrass 10′, 61′ (pen.), 84′
C. Martin 53′
S. Fletcher 78′

8 October 2016 – England 2–0 Malta
Sturridge 29′
Alli 38′

8 October 2016 – Scotland 1–1 Lithuania
McArthur 89′

11 October 2016 – Slovakia 3–0 Scotland

11 October 2016 – Slovenia 0–0 England

11 November 2016 – England 3–0 Scotland
Sturridge 23′
Lallana 50′
Cahill 61′

26 March 2017 – England 2–0 Lithuania
Defoe Goal 22′
Vardy Goal 66′

26 March 2017 – Scotland 1–0 Slovenia
C. Martin 88′

10 June 2017 – Scotland 2–2 England 
Griffiths 87′, 90′
Oxlade-Chamberlain 70′
Kane 90+3′

4 September 2017 – England 2–1 Slovakia
Dier 37′
Rashford 59′

4 September 2017 – Scotland 2–0 Malta
Berra 9′
Griffiths 49′

5 October 2017 – England 1–0 Slovenia
Kane 90+4′

Scotland 1–0 Slovakia
Škrtel Goal 89′ (o.g.)

8 October 2017 – Lithuania 0–1 England
Kane 27′ (pen.)

8 October 2017 – Slovenia 2–2 Scotland
Griffiths Goal 32′
Snodgrass Goal 88′

England then progressed to the 2018 World Cup, finished second behind Belgium and above Tunisia as well as Panama in Group G.


It had to go down to a shootout to knock Colombia out of the last 16 stage, following a 1-1 draw, Eric Dier scored the winning penalty to send England through, 4-3 enough to qualify for the quarter-finals.

Harry Maguire and Dele Alli found the net to beat Sweden 2-0 in what was a more comfortable performance than expected for England.

It was however the semi finals that Gareth Southgate’s side exited the competition, losing 2-1 after extra time to Croatia, before losing 2-0 to Belgium in the third-place playoff match, like anyone really cared right?

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Championship