Connect with us

English Premier League

Mo Salah learns fate as FA assess dramatic dive to win Liverpool a penalty against Newcastle

Mo Salah has created controversy after he appeared to dive, rather dramatically, to win Liverpool and score a penalty as they hammered Newcastle United 4-0 on Boxing Day.

It came minutes into the second half starting, the Egyptian ran down the wing – like the many times we’ve seen him do – and into the penalty area but after a slight tapping by Paul Dummett, he throws his arms in the air and went straight down.

Watch the moment for yourself in the video below…

Referee Graham Scott pointed straight to the spot and Salah followed up by scoring the penalty to make it 2-0 to the Reds.

Rafa Benitez said after the game: “The soft penalty in the game made the difference, we were in the game 1-0 at half-time, but when we conceded the second goal it was more difficult for us to react against a very good team.

“The second goal was crucial, it gave them more confidence and was more difficult for us, you have to take more risks, be more open then you make more mistakes and pay for that.”

It was confirmed this morning that after assessing the penalty incident, the Football Association decided it did not meet their threshold for deception of a match official.

He could have faced a potential two-match ban, meaning he would have missed matches against Arsenal and Manchester City.

 

Football fans were furious with Mo Salah’s dramatic dive and took to social media to voice their anger as well as mock, the referee’s decision was also heavily criticised – check out what users had to say on the next page.

NEXT PAGE

Pages: 1 2

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement
Advertisement

More in English Premier League