Connect with us


Gareth Southgate names squad for Nations League games against Iceland and Denmark next month

Gareth Southgate this afternoon names the England squad for the upcoming Nations League games against Iceland and Denmark next month.

After a ten-month wait since their last fixture, the Three Lions will return to action for UEFA Nations League fixtures against opponents who should be beatable, but could cause a problem on a good day.

Southgate’s side have been out of action since beating Montenegro and Kosovo last November, when they secured qualification for the now-rescheduled UEFA EURO 2020.

www.fanbanter.co.uk – Fan reaction to the latest football news, gossip & funnies

The outbreak of coronavirus forced March friendlies against Italy and Denmark to be cancelled, along with pre-tournament games against Romania and Austria.

In June, UEFA gave the go ahead for the Nations League, with England looking to build on 2019’s third-place finish in the inaugural year of the tournament.

Take a look at the squad Gareth Southgate names for Nations League games against Iceland and Denmark next month..


Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Danny Ings (Southampton), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur)

The Three Lions are in group A2 of the 2020-21 competition, with Belgium – FIFA’s number-one-ranked international team – completing the quartet of sides playing each-other home and away over a three-month period.

The group winner will join the other table-toppers from league A in the Nations League finals, which will be held at some point in 2021.

England travel to face Iceland in Reykjavik on Saturday 5 September at 5pm BST and then head to Copenhagen to face Denmark at 7.45pm BST on Tuesday 8 September. Both matches are like in the UK on Sky Sports.

www.fanbanter.co.uk – Fan reaction to the latest football news, gossip & funnies

Looking further ahead, Southgate’s side will then play a trio of games at Wembley Stadium connected by EE: a friendly against Wales on Thursday 8 October (8pm) before Nations League games against Belgium and Denmark on Sunday 11 October (5pm) and Wednesday 14 October (7.45pm) respectively.

The following month brings a trip to Belgium on Sunday 15 November before the Three Lions’ Nations League group campaign concludes against Iceland at Wembley on Wednesday 18 November. Both games kick off at 7.45pm GMT.

Also revealed on Tuesday were Wales and Scotland’s squads for their upcoming matches. Take a look at which players were selected below…


Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Danny Ward (Leicester City), Adam Davies (Stoke City).

Defenders: Chris Gunter (unattached), Ashley Williams (unattached), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Connor Roberts (Swansea City), Tom Lockyer (Charlton Athletic), Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea), James Lawrence (Anderlecht), Ben Cabango (Swansea City), Neco Williams (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Aaron Ramsey (Juventus), Jonathan Williams (Charlton Athletic), Harry Wilson (Liverpool), David Brooks (Bournemouth), Matthew Smith (Manchester City), Daniel James (Manchester United), Will Vaulks (Cardiff City), Joe Morrell (Bristol City), Dylan Levitt (Manchester United).

Forwards: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Hal Robson-Kanu (West Bromwich Albion), Tyler Roberts (Leeds United), Rabbi Matondo (Schalke), Kieffer Moore (Cardiff City).


Goalkeepers: David Marshall (Derby County), Robby McCrorie (Livingston)*, Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defenders: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Ryan Jack (Rangers), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United)

Forwards: Oliver Burke (West Bromwich Albion), Lyndon Dykes (QPR), James Forrest (Celtic), Oliver McBurnie (Sheffield United) and Lawrence Shankland (Dundee United)

Fans reacted after Gareth Southgate names squad for Nations League games against Iceland and Denmark next month…

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Championship