Connect with us

English Premier League

Former World Cup star charged with manslaughter

A certain former Argentina World Cup star has been charged with manslaughter following a fatal car crash, it’s been confirmed.

Goalkeeper Pablo Cavallero spent eight years in the Argentinian national football team, appeared in 152 La Liga matches over eight seasons, and was their number 1 at the 2002 World Cup and previously played in 1998 World Cup.

A 57 year old local man, named Juan Rivero, was hit by a vehicle on Route 2 near Etcheverry, just over two hours away from the Argentina capital Buenos Aires.

According to Cavallero, the victim suddenly crossed the road not giving him time to brake. The manager of the Vèlez then went to his home to complete all the formalities with the local authorities. The car has since been impounded and will remain in that state until more clarity is made over the incident.

Various photos have been published showing the state of vehicle following the impact, as police turned up to investigate whilst those involved were looked over and dealt with by medics

Ambulances are reportedly to have rushed to the scene from a nearby tollbooth on the motorway, but Rivero sadly died at the scene.

Police confiscated Cavallero’s car – a Volkswagen Tiguan – pending an investigation into what was the cause of the accident.

Though reports in Argentina claim 46 year old ex-footballer Cavallero has been charged with manslaughter for his part in the crash.

The former goalkeeper, who is now sporting director at Argentine top-flight side Velez Sarsfield, and Cavallero had been travelling home from Velez’s 2-0 win away to Argentinos Juniors.

Cavallero helped Argentina win the silver medal at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta and turned out 26 times for his country and was part of their 1998 and 2002 squads – playing with such players at Mauricio Pochettino (current manager of Paris Saint-Germain), Walter Samuel, Javier Zanetti, Diego Simeone (now Atletico Madrid boss), Claudio López, Juan Sebastián Verón, Gabriel Batistuta and Hernán Crespo whilst being managed by current Leeds manager Marcelo Bielsa.

Cavallero was their main keeper for the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan, in which they lost to Sven-Göran Eriksson’s England 1-0 in the group stage thanks to Premier League legend David Beckham’s penalty. Argentina ended up getting knocked out, failing to make the knockout rounds.

The Three Lions team back then consisted the likes of David Seaman, Danny Mills, Rio Ferdinand, Sol Campbell, Ashley Cole, David Beckham, Owen Hargreaves, Nicky Butt, Paul Scholes, Michael Owen, Emile Heskey, Trevor Sinclair, Teddy Sheringham and Wayne Bridge.

Cavallero launched his playing career at Velez Sarsfield in 1995, before moving to Spanish side Espanyol in 1999.

He remained in Spain for nearly a decade, also turning out for such teams as Celta Vigo and Levante.

Among his career highlights, Cavallero helped Celta Vigo reach the Champions League last-16 in the 2003-04 season, ending up losing to Arsenal, a team who were dubbed the Invincibles that season for winning the league season unbeaten.

The goalkeeper also won the Intertoto Cup with Celta Vigo in 2000 (beating Aston Villa over two legs along route to the final) and the Copa del Rey with Espanyol in 1999-2000.

Cavallero moved back to South American in 2008, when he joined Uruguayan side Penarol, where he retired after a single season, aged 35.


Youth career
Vélez Sarsfield

Senior career
1995–1998 – Vélez Sarsfield – 15 games
1998–1999 → Unión Santa Fe (loan) – 34 games
1999–2000 – Espanyol – 26 games
2000–2004 – Celta – 121 games
2005–2008 – Levante – 43 games
2008–2009 – Peñarol – 15 games
Total – 254 games

National team
1996 – Argentina Olympic – 4 games
1996–2004 – Argentina – 26 games


– Vélez
Argentine Primera División: 1996 Clausura, 1998 Clausura
Supercopa Sudamericana: 1996
Recopa Sudamericana: 1997

– Espanyol
Copa del Rey: 1999–2000

– Celta
UEFA Intertoto Cup: 2000

– Argentina
Summer Olympic Games: Silver medal 1996 (Nigeria got a gold medal whilst Brazil received bronze)

Zamora Trophy: 2002–03

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in English Premier League