Connect with us


Draw made for the EFL Trophy Group Stage

The EFL Trophy (Papa John’s) Group Stage draw has been made – with it all but complete ahead of the 2021/22 season which begins in August.

Further details have been confirmed ahead of the Papa John’s Trophy Round One draw on Thursday the 24th of June 2021.

The 16 Invited U21 teams, named below, will be placed into their respective Northern and Southern section Groups.

www.fanbanter.co.uk – Fan reaction to the latest football news, gossip & funnies

The 48 EFL Clubs placed into pre-determined Groups, you can find out who are in what (following Thursday’s draw) as follows:

Northern Groups

Group A – Carlisle United, Hartlepool United, Morecambe, Everton

Group B – Oldham Athletic, Tranmere Rovers, Salford City, Leeds United

Group C – Wigan Athletic, Crewe Alexandra, Shrewsbury Town, Wolves

Group D – Port Vale, Rochdale, Bolton Wanderers, Liverpool

Group E – Rotherham United, Doncaster Rovers, Scunthorpe United, Man City

Group F – Bradford City, Lincoln City, Sunderland, Man Utd

Group G – Accrington Stanley, Barrow, Fleetwood Town, Leicester City

Group H – Sheffield Wednesday, Harrogate Town, Mansfield Town, Newcastle United

Southern Groups

Group A – Colchester United, Gillingham, Ipswich Town, West Ham

Group B – AFC Wimbledon, Portsmouth, Sutton United, Crystal Palace

Group C – Milton Keynes Dons, Burton Albion, Wycombe Wanderers, Aston Villa

Group D – Forest Green Rovers, Northampton Town, Walsall, Brighton

Group E – Exeter City, Bristol Rovers, Cheltenham Town, Chelsea

Group F – Swindon Town, Newport County, Plymouth Argyle, Arsenal

Group G – Crawley Town, Charlton Athletic, Leyton Orient, Southampton

Group H – Oxford United, Cambridge United, Stevenage, Tottenham


A day to mark in the diary of supporters up and down the country, the fixture lists across the Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two will be revealed at 9am, with the cup draws completing the early-season schedule later in the day.

Carabao Cup

The Carabao Cup Round One draw will take place live on Sky Sports at 3:40pm on Thursday 24 June.

A total of 35 fixtures will be drawn for Round One, which includes EFL Cup debutants Sutton United, and newly promoted Hartlepool United.

Sheffield United will be included, while fellow Championship newcomers West Bromwich Albion and Fulham join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League Clubs that are not competing in Europe.

The Round One draw will see teams drawn in Northern and Southern sections, with matches scheduled to take place week commencing 9 August. Clubs are able to mutually agree an alternative date between 31 July and 4 August. 


1. Accrington Stanley
2. Barnsley
3. Barrow
4. Blackburn Rovers
5. Blackpool
6. Bolton Wanderers
7. Bradford City
8. Carlisle United
9. Crewe Alexandra
10. Derby County
11. Doncaster Rovers
12. Fleetwood Town
13. Harrogate Town
14. Hartlepool United
15. Huddersfield Town
16. Hull City
17. Lincoln City
18. Mansfield Town
19. Middlesbrough
20. Morecambe
21. Nottingham Forest
22. Oldham Athletic
23. Port Vale
24. Preston North End
25. Rochdale
26. Rotherham United
27. Salford City
28. Scunthorpe United
29. Sheffield United
30. Sheffield Wednesday
31. Shrewsbury Town
32. Stoke City
33. Sunderland AFC
34. Tranmere Rovers
35. Walsall
36. Wigan Athletic

1. AFC Bournemouth
2. AFC Wimbledon
3. Birmingham City
4. Bristol City
5. Bristol Rovers
6. Burton Albion
7. Cambridge United
8. Cardiff City
9. Charlton Athletic
10. Cheltenham Town
11. Colchester United
12. Coventry City
13. Crawley Town
14. Exeter City
15. Forest Green Rovers
16. Gillingham
17. Ipswich Town
18. Leyton Orient
19. Luton Town
20. Millwall
21. Milton Keynes Dons
22. Newport County
23. Northampton Town
24. Oxford United
25. Peterborough United
26. Plymouth Argyle
27. Portsmouth
28. Queens Park Rangers
29. Reading
30. Stevenage
31. Sutton United
32. Swansea City
33. Swindon Town
34. Wycombe Wanderers

Papa John’s Trophy

The Papa John’s Trophy Round One draw will take place live on Sky Sports at 4:30pm on Thursday 24 June.

The 16 Invited U21 teams will be placed into their respective Northern and Southern section Groups, with the 48 EFL Clubs placed into pre-determined Groups prior to the draw. Consideration has been given to ensure travel time is minimised and recovery time is maximised for players.

In addition, if there is a situation where two teams meet in the Group Stages for a second successive season, then the Club who was at home in 2020/21 will play away in 2021/22. All EFL Clubs will play two of their three matches at home in the Group Stages.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Championship